Cornell Creme

Farm-fresh Manitoba ice cream

We handcraft delicious artisan ice cream using single-source milk from our farm in Manitoba. 

Gluten and Gluten Free

Quite frequently we are asked if our ice cream is considered to be gluten free. I thought I would blog about this subject. Basically anything wheat derived is considered to contain gluten. We recommend always reading labels to be sure. Most of our flavours would be considered gluten free with the exception of the Malty Ale Pail. This contains beer and beer is from barley/wheat.

Our ingredient list for our base mix is: Cream, Skim Milk, Sugar, Egg Yolks and flavouring. For flavouring we use natural juices / natural flavours that are kosher certified and gluten free. (For example we juice fresh raspberries and use the fresh juice in the ice cream.)  We do not use any fillers or preservatives in our ice cream that would contain gluten.  If you are unsure when buying ice cream always check the labelled ingredients to be sure.

For the moment we are not making inclusion based ice cream ie: Cookies and Cream. If we do, that may be the chance of containing gluten (cookies). Our desire is to remain as gluten free as we can. If we do make cookies and cream one day we will consider using gluten free cookies.  If you would like to read more about this topic you can check out this page: Gluten 

 

~Enjoy

Follow us @cornellcreme

© 2013 Cornell Creme

Branding, packaging and site design by Jolene Olive.